Ethical treatment of farm animals

12 Aug

The ethical treatment of farm animals has been on my mind a lot lately.  Sheryl Eisenberg of NRDC’s This Green Life has written a great article about what to look for when buying eggs, dairy and meat.  I always try to buy grass-fed beef when we eat red meat (although I just learned today that grass finished is also a good term to look for).

And I look for eggs from chickens that are pasture raised.  The animals deserve a better life and we need to protect them.  Plus it is healthier for us if they live in better conditions and don’t need antibiotics because of bad living conditions.

An idea my husband came up with the other day is to buy only local items one day a week.  We are lucky because our market has a pretty good selection of fruits and vegetables grown in our area.  And we can drink wine from a vineyard nearby or water from our tap.  Best of all, we can watch the stars from our deck that night!

Taking inspiration from the Olympic swimmer, Natalie Coughlin, our next goal is to grow some of our own food!

Please let me know if you try a “buy local” day in your area and how it went!

.

6 Responses to “Ethical treatment of farm animals”

  1. Paul Hunter Jones August 12, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    I understand that animals that feed on natural ingredients in open spaces tend to be treated more humanly. This seems logical to me. Farm animals are healthier when consuming less bioengineered feed. In turn we who consume these animals must derive some benefit from eating healthier farm animals. How would I determine if a certain product sold in the store (NYC) has been naturally feed? Do I have to visit a specialty store or is there some indication on the packaging label?

    • farmstandla August 12, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      I would look for grassfed beef or pasture raised chickens. those are good terms. cage free doesn’t mean as much because it just means they were not in cages but they could be still in very crowded conditions. if you have a local market that you trust, you could ask them for recommendations. as a challenge, i am going to buy only local food tomorrow from my market for our “buy local” day — so I am going to ask the produce man at the market for all the foods that are grown in our area.

      • Paul Hunter Jones August 13, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

        These are good suggestions. Once I locate a good seller of grassfed beef and pasture raised chicken I will return with the details.

      • Paul Hunter Jones August 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

        Try –

        Heritage Meat Shop
        The Essex Street Market @ Delancey Street
        120 Essex Street
        New York, New York 10002
        212.539.1111

        They only sell pastured fed meat and fowl.
        Yesterday I shopped there. Prices are ok, considering the product.

        Good luck!

  2. farmstandla August 17, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    that is great news Paul! I will tell my friends and colleagues in NY about the Heritage Meat Shop that you found.

  3. forkoffcruelty December 20, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    A start. but are they slaughtered humanely?
    I doubt it.
    Read the hard-hitting views of @forkoffcruelty on Twitter

Leave a Reply

