CHOCOLATE!!!

7 Apr

CHOCOLATE MOUSSE!!

I have always wanted to be able to make a delicious chocolate mousse ever since I was 10 years old.

I still remember a day in 5th grade when I tried to make mousse for a school bake sale.  I made it the night before and the next morning ran to the refrigerator so excited to bring it to school.  And what did I find — a RUNNY chocolate mousse.  I was SO DISAPPOINTED.

Ever since that day, I have always wanted to find the perfect recipe and serve chocolate mousse in beautiful demi-tasse cups for dessert.

I found this recipe today on The Family Dinner website (a great resource!) and it has gotten me closer to the PERFECT CHOCOLATE MOUSSE.

The recipe says to beat by hand for 5 minutes.  At 5 minutes my mousse was not thick enough so I beat with a hand-held mixer for another 7 minutes which ended up being too long.  The mousse still tastes delicious (I didn’t even add sugar) but it is not as pretty as the picture on the website.  I started by sitting my bowl in water and ice but then switched over to sitting my bowl on top of an ice pack which seemed to work better.

I used Scharffen Berger bittersweet (70% cacao) dark chocolate.  And didn’t add any sugar.  Next time, I might add a little salt or vanilla.  Hazelnut flavoring might be nice too.  A lot to try still!

I am very excited about this recipe.  I can see my childhood dream coming true soon of serving the perfect mousse in tiny individual cups. Just a little bit more experimenting!  And I still need to go out and buy the cute little cups.  Will send you a photo soon! But in the meantime, here are photos from round 1.

Leave a Reply

